4.0 to 4.5L

Newbies, and basic Stroker Recipes... Get started with your first stroker here!!
smbball32

4.0 to 4.5L

Post by smbball32 »

Sorry if I am beating a dead horse with this question, but I'm new to the whole stroker world. I know that I can take my stock '97 4.0L engine and put a 4.2L crank in it which strokes it to a 4.5L. I have a couple questions about this.
If I am trying to do this as cheap as possible, what do I all need to buy? I will also put a new head gasket on, but in addition to that, is all I NEED just the 4.2 L crank?

What years can I get the crank from?

I know this may be a dumb question, but if I take the grill, fenders, ect off, do I need to pull the whole engine?

Any other tips?
PolloLoco
Donator
Donator
Stroker Displacement: 4.7L
Vehicle Year: 1997
Vehicle Make: Jeep
Vehicle Model: TJ

Re: 4.0 to 4.5L

Post by PolloLoco »

Yes the engine will need to be pulled. The route I'm going to go is buy a motor from a 96-98 XJ or TJ (we both have 97s so you may want to go this route) and build the engine slowly, keeping my TJ driveable, then over the course of one weekend swap the motors.

You may need to bore and hone the cylinders, depending on wear to the walls. If the cylinders are bored you'll need new pistons, but it may not even be necessary. Along with the 258 crank you'll need the 258 connecting rods. You can reuse the 4.0 rods if you get custom pistons, but the 258 rods are the cheaper route. The crank can come from a 258 motor itself, just get it ground, or you could buy one remanufactured already. the 4CW crank will probably be cheaper, it's not in demand as much. You'll also need new rod and main bearings. You can reuse your cam, but at the cost of performance. The COMP 68-231-4 is a good replacement cam, but isn't the cheapest route.

Read all the FAQs, there is a great wealth of information: viewforum.php?f=27

Some of my favorite reads for stroker info:
http://www.angelfire.com/my/fan/stroker.html