Newbie Cheap Cherokee Stroker

Project vehicle blogs or "mod diary" specific threads only.. Pics encouraged!!
laxplayermjd
Making Progress
Making Progress
Vehicle Year: 1988
Vehicle Make: Jeep
Vehicle Model: Cherokee

Newbie Cheap Cherokee Stroker

Post by laxplayermjd »

Hey guys,

First off im new to the world of jeeps. I am learning as much as i can with the endless bookmarked web pages around for XJ and the stroker.
I am picking up a 88 Cherokee 4x4 Auto with 185k for $500 this weekend. Now the engine runs, it was overheated, and attempted to be fixed by backyard mechanic. There is a coolant leak at the rear of the engine somewhere. Havent got to look at it good yet. Possible block or head is cracked. Now id appreciate any input from you guys.

First i probably have to atleast do a head gasket. I would like to do a stroker tho. I spoke with a friend that has a '82 258 complete engine laying around that he would let go for $300. Would i then have to get those rods and crank reconditioned? I dont want to spend a ton of money due to that the fact i didnt pay a whole lot for the jeep. Would it be better cost effective to buy a crank from autozone (3727 Crank) and rods on ebay for approx the same price.

Second i will want to use the 258 rods due to the excess cost for pistons on the 4.0 rod. Now since the engine was overheated do you think it should be bored. If i bore it it will be .030. So std bore or .030. What machine costs am i looking at for the bottom end? What machine work needs to be done? Deck block due to the excess quench that would result? And what are the most common piston availble? Thanks for the help guys. I look foward to keeping up to date project info.
yuppiexj
Donator
Donator
Stroker Displacement: 4.5 needs assembly

Re: Newbie Cheap Cherokee Stroker

Post by yuppiexj »

Welcome.

Check the rearmost freeze plug when you pull the head.
My bet it's leaking from there, and you'll need to replace all of the freeze plugs.