Please recommend an appropriate stroker recipe for my needs.

Newbies, and basic Stroker Recipes... Get started with your first stroker here!!
cb3

Please recommend an appropriate stroker recipe for my needs.

Post by cb3 »

Hi. I'm a newbie to strokers. I want to have a local performance shop near my area build a stroker for me out of my 4L engine from my 06 LJ Rubicon that has 17,500 miles on it. It's been running on Mobil One 5/40 since breakin completed at 7,500 miles. During breakin it ran on conventional oil. My engine is in "like new" condition, as far as I can tell.

Even though I intend to have it built for me by a professional shop, I still want to know what to have them build so I can get what I want, not what they choose to give me. So I need to learn about strokers before I hire a shop to build me one, so that I know what to ask them to build.

I'm looking for good torque (240+ ft/lbs) from 1200 rpms to 3000 rpms, or ideally from 1200 to 3200 rpms. I'd also like to gain some horsepower, like 40+ ponies (across as wide an rpm range as possible, but especially in low and middle rpms). I don't want to have to rev it way up to get the extra power.

I'd prefer to be able to run mid-grade gas if possible. If I had to run premium gas, it'd be acceptable.

I would like a reliable engine. Is it possible to have a reliable stroker?

I'd like to keep cost, including labor, under $3K.

I'm thinking that either a 4.5L or 4.6L would fit my needs, but I need a recipe to specify to the build shop what I want. They build V8 a lot, but not sure if they've done very many Jeep strokers.

I've read several recipes for 4.6L strokers and most are not even close to what I want for torque curve; however, one I saw was close. Is there a recipe that gives what I want? I don't care if it's a 4.5L or a 4.6L. I'm sure I don't want a 4.7L.

What 4.5L and/or 4.6L recipes do you suggest?
Last edited by cb3 on February 16th, 2009, 6:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
cb3