Project preparation update

Newbies, and basic Stroker Recipes... Get started with your first stroker here!!
Cam Hensley
Vehicle Year: 2002
Vehicle Make: Jeep
Vehicle Model: TJ

Project preparation update

Post by Cam Hensley »

I took the sound advice from a few members here and preparations for the stroker have been underway and going good. I have been addressing some electrical gremlins on my 02 TJ, which to me is an accomplishment in itself as I have always found electrical work intimidating. Armed with a 02 FSM pulled from another forum I was able to get rid of a wired rats nest, a hold over from the previous owner (pictured, if upload worked).It also solved an intermittent starting problem, as the rats nest was spliced into the yellow 14ga wire that runs from the ignition. I am by no means an electrician, but I do know what right looks like and that splice was, bad.

I touched bases with Russ and we talked some about parts, he seems like a good guy and very knowledgeable..I am looking forward to working with him and nailing down the build. Also picked up the 4.0 rebuild book by Larry Shepard to help me along.

I have been casually looking for a 02-06 4.0 donor locally and I must say, salvage yards are proud of their engines in my neck of the woods. Average is 1.2k-4k for one. I will start looking around Pensacola,FL to hopefully find a better deal because Jeeps are everywhere over there.

Coupe of Q's:
During cam break in, if you upgraded the header or exhaust line..is it wise to have the new exhaust system installed? I've read about glowing headers and melted cats during the break in.

Electric radiator fan(s): Preferred vendor? I have the 3550 5speed, going for a mild buck Stoker, I have since moved away from the low octane stroker idea when I initially started this endeavor.

That's all for me right now. Hope everyone has a cozy end of the year and thanks for the knowledge. Till next time

Cam
Randy Bobandi
I made it to triple digits!