Help for a newbie

Newbies, and basic Stroker Recipes... Get started with your first stroker here!!
elimsprint
Noob
Noob
Stroker Displacement: 4.6
Vehicle Year: 2001
Vehicle Make: Jeep
Vehicle Model: TJ

Help for a newbie

Post by elimsprint »

Hi All,
I am a newbie to all this. I've had a '01 TJ for 15 years now and I want to put a stroker in it. I got a screaming deal on a 53020569 short block that has been hot-tanked, magnafluxed, bored .030" with custom pistons, reconditioned 258 crank, reconditioned con rods, decked .010", Comp Cams 252 cam plus a bunch of other stuff. No head, intake or exhaust manifolds. I got rebuilt Ford 24# injectors with it also.
I want to put this in my TJ but I am having real problems figuring out if it will fit, motor mounts line up, bosses etc. Also, if I can use it do I find a 0630 or a 0331 TUNY head for it. I feel the TUNY head would be better as my stock exhaust will bolt right up without the adaptor plate and has coil pack bosses but as I said before, "I know nothingk" I think I should stick with the stock exhaust as all I see is people with problems with headers online unless someone has a better idea.
Can I use the '01's ignition, coil packs, distributor etc or do I need to go back to a distributor, coil and wires? I think I can use my ignition but better to ask you knowledgeable people. Any problem with adding my accessories? I haven't determined if the crank has a short or long "snout" but I know there is an adapter available if needed. My TJ does have A/C but that could go and I wouldn't miss it if it needs to.
I have been reading and reading but the more I read the more confused I am getting, please help my poor old mind get around all this.
Cheromaniac
I live here
I live here
Stroker Displacement: 4563cc
Vehicle Year: 1992
Vehicle Model: Cherokee

Re: Help for a newbie

Post by Cheromaniac »

The block used in your short block stroker is from a '96-'99 TJ/XJ so your engine mount brackets should fit.