Modified log intake manifold

For all non stroker / performance related problems and discussion.
Joshy
Noob
Noob
Vehicle Year: 2003
Vehicle Make: Jeep
Vehicle Model: Wrangler

Modified log intake manifold

Post by Joshy »

G'day all,

I've been stalking this site for some time now but it's my first time posting.

Bit of background... I've got an '03 TJ that I managed to hydraulic lock, breaking the rods on the 1st and 6th. Don't ask. They got stuck on the girdle and bent it a little but it'll straighten out easy. The rod on the 1st scored the bore about 20 thou - that's all the internal damage. I got lucky and I spose it's a good time to build a stroker then.

Plans are:
SCAT crank
SCAT forged rods
IC944's in 60 thou over
Block decked
Lunati 63500 with matching lifters (I know they changed the part number)
Mopar MLS head gasket
DCR = 8.2 ish

I've got the late model intake manifold already but was wondering if anyone's modded a manifold? I've looked and it seems no after market manifolds exist anymore.

I was thinking of getting a log manifold (not the renix ones) and cutting the "log" off the runners then brazing an alloy pipe (3" - 4" dia.) to the ends. It might be a complete waste of time but I figure it'll give more plenum volume plus the intake can be directed to the front for a better cold air/ram effect and it would be easy to make a bigger throttle body fit.

Shit idea?

Appreciate any insight.
SilverXJ
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Stroker Displacement: 4.6L
Vehicle Year: 2000
Vehicle Model: Cherokee

Re: Modified log intake manifold

Post by SilverXJ »

Joshy wrote: IC944's in 60 thou over
I would go as little over as possible in case the block ever needs another bore.