My 4.6 Project engine

Project vehicle blogs or "mod diary" specific threads only.. Pics encouraged!!
akadeutsch
Movin on up ^
Movin on up ^
Stroker Displacement: 4.6
Vehicle Year: 1981
Vehicle Make: Jeep
Vehicle Model: CJ8

My 4.6 Project engine

Post by akadeutsch »

Like many of you I am building a 4.6. This is my first one. I have a degree in auto mechanics and am ASE certified so I should be able to handle the assembly but I am unsure about the math. Here is my recipe. Think it will work?

-4.0 block bored +.030, line honed, and decked -.020
-Jeep 4.2L 3.895" stroke crank, not sure what the machine shop will tell me that I have to do to it yet.
- Jeep 4.0L 6.125" reconditioned rods
-KB +0.030" bore pistons/rings with a ????? pin hight
-Clegg stage 3 cam/lifter/timing kit, Cam duration 266/272. Duration at .50 214/218 Gross Valve lift .490/ .488
-Mopar Performance gasket kit
-Ported big valve 2.02"/1.60" cylinder head cast #0331 "Tupy"
-Mopar Performance 0.043" head gasket
-???? quench height. why is this important?
-ported 63mm TB
-stock injectors...for now
-Kolak ceramic header inside and out with 2.5" tubes all the way to high flow cat, and flowmaster exhaust.

Thoughts?
akadeutsch
Movin on up ^
Movin on up ^

Re: My 4.6 Project engine

Post by akadeutsch »

I just learned that there were different counter weight crank shafts in the jeep 258 4.2L engine. I just bought an old 258 out of an 88 YJ. How many counter weights does it have? I'll search around a little bit and find some information and post it here.
SilverXJ
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Stroker Displacement: 4.6L
Vehicle Year: 2000
Vehicle Model: Cherokee

Post by SilverXJ »

Maybe of your questions will be answered here: http://www.jeepstrokers.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=34
beiwulf
Donator
Donator
Stroker Displacement: 4.7Turbo soonish
Vehicle Year: 1995
Vehicle Make: ZJ
Vehicle Model: Laredo

Post by beiwulf »