New to the site with a few unique questions

Project vehicle blogs or "mod diary" specific threads only.. Pics encouraged!!
tbone1004
Vehicle Year: 1951
Vehicle Make: Dodge
Vehicle Model: M37

New to the site with a few unique questions

Post by tbone1004 »

Guess I should give an intro so here goes. I'm a ballistic engineer up in Maine and a major gearhead. This past summer I purchased a 1951 Dodge M37 from my towns VFD to begin a restomod for a daily driver. I have a V8 Jeep WJ that I have a love hate relationship with. It hates me, I love it. Mainly fighting the Jeep Flu with the damn 545RFE transmission not wanting to ground the starter relay.
Anyway

Here is a link to the build thread that I started on a dedicated M37 website.
http://www.g741.org/PHPBB/viewtopic.php ... 258#p45258
and here is the link to the public Facebook album with all of the pictures
https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set ... 581e3dc797

I have known from day 1 that he would need a new engine. Unlike the flathead 6's from Chevy and Ford, the Mopar L6 does not have great potential for power and has very limited aftermarket support. As it sits, it has around 90bhp and 190ish ftlbs. The torque is enough to get it moving, but due to a very restrictive RPM band *it revs like a diesel* and the lack of hp means it crawls at 25-30mph up any sort of incline. I initially was hell bent on getting a diesel put in this thing but am now very much on the fence leaning towards a gasser. Hopefully you guys can push me in one direction or the other and I apologize for the lengthy post.