Did I finally figure out what's wrong with my Stroker??

Performance mods and Advanced Stroker discussion.
Billygoat
Noob
Noob
Stroker Displacement: 4.6L
Vehicle Year: 1984
Vehicle Make: Jeep
Vehicle Model: CJ7

Did I finally figure out what's wrong with my Stroker??

Post by Billygoat »

I have been working on my stroker project for almost 6 years now. It's in a completely rebuilt CJ7, and everything is new down to the last bolt. My main dilemma: the exhaust manifold and catalytic converter glow orange after driving or offroading, and the power is not what it should be (The Jeep has 4.56 gears, 35" tires, and won't go faster than 60-65 on flat ground unless I cruise at 3500-4000 rpm)...also the idle could be smoother and the engine pops/backfires out the exhaust occasionally when engine braking. The system is a 1994 OBDI with Hesco ECU, adjustable fuel pressure regulator, rebuilt Ford Taurus 24lb injectors, dished pistons and decked block ~9.2 CR 4.6L with a Crane Cam (it's an old project), plate and fin type oil cooler, flowkooler water pump, dual electric fans, and wideband O2 and AFR gauge. The cam was Crane's "truck" cam, and they said was the largest that would work with the factory ecu. The AFR is reading lean, and I am trying to tweak it with an adjustable MAP sensor voltage thingy that I made via Dino's instructions.
My hypothesis:
1) The cam is too aggressive, and I should retard it 4 degrees with my Cloyes double roller timing set