Another First stroker build

Newbies, and basic Stroker Recipes... Get started with your first stroker here!!
MuddingZJ
Vehicle Year: 1997
Vehicle Make: Jeep
Vehicle Model: ZJ

Another First stroker build

Post by MuddingZJ »

Hey everyone. Im new to working on jeeps and building engines in general. Done a couple easy repairs like alternators, radiators and exhausts but its time for me to step it up. I have a running 97 Jeep Grandcherokee (ZJ), 4.0l, freshly rebuilt tranny. Engine has that ever common jeep knock so i plan on rebuilidng it.I Have a second complete engine out of a 96 ZJ with a bad headgasket. Id like to build that into the stroker engine.
1st question would be: Should I even try on not risk it cause of the damage the bad headgasket could have caused??
I researched many of the stroker outline recipies online and heres the one Im liking as of now.

4.6L low-buck stroker
Jeep 4.2L 3.895" stroke crank
Jeep 4.0L 6.125" rods
Keith Black IC944-030 pistons
9.6:1 CR
CompCams #68-231-4 206/214 degree camshaft
Ported HO 1.91"/1.50" cylinder head
Mill block deck 0.020"
Mopar/Victor 0.043" head gasket
0.050" quench height
Ford 24lb/hr injectors with adjustable FPR or MAP adjuster for '87-'95 engines, Ford 24lb/hr injectors with stock 49psi FPR for '96 and later engines
264hp @ 4900rpm, 324lbft @ 3500rpm

I was wondering knowing I only have a second engine for parts: How much would a build like this cost? Wheres the cheapest place to get parts? and What octane gas could I run it on some people tell me the 9.6:1 CR would require 93 octane. Thanks I could really use a better parts list then one of those recipies on there and ive seen the full kits for like 1,900 on ebay but id like to stay under it if possible... Thanks alot everyone
- Justin
Cheromaniac
I live here
I live here
Stroker Displacement: 4563cc
Vehicle Year: 1992
Vehicle Model: Cherokee

Re: Another First stroker build

Post by Cheromaniac »