Alex's stroker build

Project vehicle blogs or "mod diary" specific threads only.. Pics encouraged!!
Alex22
Consistent
Consistent

Alex's stroker build

Post by Alex22 »

Hello all,

I'll start off with some background.
The jeep:
1996 Cherokee Sport with 160K, 4.0, AX-15, Ford 8.8 (3.73 gears with posi and a Super88 kit) 4 inches of lift and 31" tires.
Me:
Just a kid with a lifted XJ. I spent the past few months on NAXJA looking up fixes for the priority jobs (D35 about to blow up) and have my sights set on my stroker now, and a new front axle. During the summer I'm an automotive machinist (2.5 years), weekends I'm a carpenter, and during the school year I'm an Electrical Engineering Technologies student at a community college and work part time as a machinist and a carpenter.

What I have so far:
The XJ
The engine out of a 98 Grand Cherokee with 90K miles on it
4.2 rods
4.2 crank (12 counterweight)
A cracked 0721 head donated by Chad Golen for me to cut up and check out wall thicknesses and a few test ports.
Mustang TB
Accesses to just about any part I want for a quick test fit
80+ years of combined engine building experience willing to help.

Progress:
4.0 engine disassembled
All 4.0 parts magnafluxed good
4.2 crank and rods magnafluxed good
4.2 crank ground .010 (low limit) and nitrided
0721 head cut in half with one intake and one exhaust sectioned.
Lots of ideas

The build:
The head will be ported to get maximum flow while keeping the ports as small as possible most likely chevy valves
Maybe a set of custom pistons
.020 or .030 over
zero deck
9 to 9.5:1 compression
heavily modify or build my own intake manifold and harmonic tune the runner lengths as best as possible.
balance the rotating assembly to race spec
polish, shot pen, install ARP rod bolts, resize and maybe nitride the rods. I have not made up my mind if I'm going to use the 4.0 or the 4.2 rods yet.
Borla exhaust
A'pexi map sensor or the AEM piggy back computer

Goal: