Newbie / 4.0L Head Swap

Swaping 258 to 4.0, 4.0 parts to 258 etc!
travwise
Vehicle Year: 1980
Vehicle Make: Jeep
Vehicle Model: CJ7

Newbie / 4.0L Head Swap

Post by travwise »

I recently purchased a 4.0L head from a 1995 Jeep Cherokee, casting number 7120. This was purchased from a junkyard, but tested - no leaks no cracks. I have read the most common articles on performing the swap, and as a new member to this site surfed what I could find. I have a couple of questions regarding this whole process - I apologize in advance if they sound stupid - just looking for some advice from the pros. Just to clarify I own a 1980 CJ7 with a 4.2, looking to swap the head at this time only. I am a first time builder, with a limited budget...

1. I have found conflicting information regarding whether or not you can/should use the 4.0 push rods, or the 4.2 push rods. Is there a "right answer" of do I just need to measure lifter preload after assembling the head?

2. The head I purchased from the junkyard is dirty and a little rusty in spots. Is it ok to clean of the head using a wire brush? I know the ultimate thing to do would be to take it to a machine shop for baking, and that is what I will do if I have to; again looking to complete this swap on a budget.

3. For those of you that have gone before me, is there anything I should know ahead of time? I am looking for "I wish I would have known that" type of stuff.

Thanks in advance for any that reply to this post. I am looking forward to learning all that I can.

- Travis
travwise
Vehicle Year: 1980
Vehicle Model: CJ7

Re: Newbie / 4.0L Head Swap

Post by travwise »

Really? Not a single person has anything to say? What are there 5 people on this forum or what? Come on boys...
SilverXJ
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Stroker Displacement: 4.6L
Vehicle Year: 2000
Vehicle Model: Cherokee

Post by SilverXJ »