4.2 to 4.0 head swap

Swaping 258 to 4.0, 4.0 parts to 258 etc!
mudoctor
Vehicle Year: 1987
Vehicle Make: jeep
Vehicle Model: wrangler

4.2 to 4.0 head swap

Post by mudoctor »

Newbie Here! Need some help on a head and carb conversion. My son and I have a 1987 yj wrangler, 4.2 258 block casting number EF3235444. Head casting number 8933002, it has 7/16 head bolts. I purchased a 2150 motorcraft carb to swap out the carter and ordered a set of Pacesetter headers to install with a new dual exhaust fot it. anyway the headers do not fit. Part number 70-1191. I think they actually fit a 4.0 in a cherokee or something. But with this I am now thinking of changing the Head so I can use the headers and gain the extra HP. Question, will a head casting 7120 from a 4.0 (or what year) fit with the water holes blocked off, second head bolt size? ( my OEM 4.2 has 7/16, will the head of a 4.0 be 7/16 or 1/2) third can I use my OEM intake with my 2150 motorcraft carb? fourth will the PN 70-1191 pacesetter headers fit it? Some direction on this would really help. This project has got both me and my son frustrated. Thank You Mudoctor :brickwall:
bbarrett
Making Progress
Making Progress
Stroker Displacement: 331

Re: 4.2 to 4.0 head swap

Post by bbarrett »