Newb needing help in engine selection

Newbies, and basic Stroker Recipes... Get started with your first stroker here!!
gearheadmb
Vehicle Year: 1990
Vehicle Make: YJ
Vehicle Model: 258

Newb needing help in engine selection

Post by gearheadmb »

Heres the story, I've got a 90 yj with a 258 carbed engine. I've wanted to go injected for quite some time, I had considered using a gm TBI from a 4.3 litre or a 4.0 swap.
After doing some research I'm thinking "what the hell, might as well build a stroker." I've been an auto mechanic for 10 years but this will be my first time doing major engine mods for something computer controlled. I intend to get a 4.0 and get the PCM and harness with it. My question is what years make the best stroker candidates, specifically as far as engine management is concerned? It seems like obd2 is alot better to work with on stock units because they interface better with the scan tool and can give alot more live data, does the obd2 systems react well to the stroker setup? If you stroker gurus were starting one from scratch what would you use?
Thanks
Mike
sudo chop
Donator
Donator
Stroker Displacement: 4.6L
Vehicle Year: 1998
Vehicle Make: Jeep
Vehicle Model: Cherokee

Re: Newb needing help in engine selection

Post by sudo chop »

From what I know -limited,- the OBDII is just slightly less adaptable at learning new fuel trim.

Other than that, and obviously the human interface being a bit more convenient, I don't know that there is much difference.