New Stroker, Need Advice

Performance mods and Advanced Stroker discussion.
Emptypockets
Stroker Displacement: 4.6
Vehicle Year: 1993
Vehicle Make: jeep
Vehicle Model: zj

New Stroker, Need Advice

Post by Emptypockets »

I fired up my new 4.6 stroker today. It is in the family Grand bought new in 1993. I have been drooling over the Hesco kit for a couple of years just waiting for the wife to retire Old Faithfull so I could turn it into my personal project.

Well, my number one son went off to college and he got the jeep. A couple of months ago the jeep broke a rod bolt and put the rod through the side of the block. Not the way I wanted to start my stroker project but oh well. I sent my truck to the kid and I started gathering parts.

My recipe:

balanced 4.2l, 4cwt crank

4.0 rods, weight matched

LT1 chevy pistons (3.907"), 12.2cc dish, .026" deck (deck not ideal but machine shop screw-up)

Reciprocating assembly weight matched to .25 gram

.051 head gasket

original 7120 head, ported to make peak power at 4900rpm, chambers opened to 64cc & matched

modified 93 intake

2" ss intake and 1.6" ss exhaust valves

Comp 68-232-4 cam, intake centerline set at 108 degrees. Didn't want this cam but Comp tech insisted this would work best with the computer.

beehive springs

Still using stock TB and injectors, trying to find the best combo. 63mm TB will fit the manifold without mods.

OK, here's where I need some help. The engine started right up but had to be babied to 2000rpm. It ran fine at a steady 2000 but began to miss when rev'd to 2500. It eventually began to overheat (the fan clutch never engaged, will replace it.) I got the engine through the cam break-in by cooling the radiator off with the garden hose.

Now the engine is very slow to start. When it does it will idle smoothly and can be coaxed to about 2000rpm but has no power and misses badly above 2000. In gear it won't rev above 1200rpm.