'99 MJ 4.7L Build

Project vehicle blogs or "mod diary" specific threads only.. Pics encouraged!!
go4lo
Making Progress
Making Progress
Vehicle Year: 1990
Vehicle Make: Jeep
Vehicle Model: MJ

'99 MJ 4.7L Build

Post by go4lo »

I've been researching and asking questions on here for a few months and I've finally started collecting parts and moving closer to a finish date for my MJ project so I thought I would start a build thread to document the 4.7L build going into my '99 MJ project. I will preface by saying I'm by no means an expert on jeep strokers but I have owned and built several 4.0L powered Jeeps over the past 10 years. This will be my first stroker project and the most indepth I've been on a custom engine build so please forgive me if I ask any "dumb" questions.

That being said below is a current pic of my project MJ and what parts I've collected for the stroker as well as my reciepe.

The engine I'm using is from a '99 XJ with 173K. The truck will end up being on 35s. Both the HP30 and Dana44 are built with 4.88s and Detroit Lockers and Alloy shafts. I plan to drive the truck a few days a week to work and use it on the weekends for wheeling and camping trips.

Receipe:
4.2L 12cwt Crankshaft w/Engine Tech Bearings(have)
4.0L Piston Rods (have)
KB IC944 .060 Pistons w/Moly Rings (have)
ARP Bolts (have)
CompCams 68-231-4 (have)
CompCams Lifters (have)
JP Double Roller Timing Set (have)
'99 Intake (have)
Mopar Perf Springs, Locks and Retainers (have)
Elgin Brass Freeze Plugs
Victor Reinz Upper and Lower gasket sets
Clevite Cam Bearings

I plan to have .0200 milled off the block deck to give me approx .0095 deck height, hopefully with this combination and the .044 HG I'll end up with a SCR of ~ 9.66, DCR of ~ 8.43 and quench of .0535. Also I am considering the YT and Harland Sharp Roller rockers as well as a DIY Port/Polish.