High RPM lean?

Newbies, and basic Stroker Recipes... Get started with your first stroker here!!
kptuck
Where's the "any" key?
Where's the "any" key?
Stroker Displacement: 4.9L
Vehicle Year: 2000
Vehicle Make: Jeep
Vehicle Model: TJ

High RPM lean?

Post by kptuck »

Hello all, stroker newbie here -

I have just installed a 4.9L Titan, I know some are against Titan...

The cam break-in went fine, and so did the first drive.

The only issue I am experiencing is power loss at 4200+ RPM that feels like the mixture is going lean. I installed 27# Bosch III injectors and a 63mm Throttle body. I stuck with the stock exhaust.

Since I only have one drive on the new engine the PCM is still dealing with the changes, but I have no experience with adjustable MAP or other tuning solutions with computerized vehicles. I am a Holley carburetor and small block Chevy guy from the 70's...

Questions -
Will my PCM deal with the changes I made and eventually correct the lean issue?

Will the stock fuel pump supply enough fuel at pressure to run above 4200 RPM?

Do I need to buy a "chip" or something?

Other than the high RPM issue the engine runs GREAT off idle and pulls strong smooth and quiet right up to 4000 RPM.

Any other thoughts?

Thanks,

Kevin
Kevin, 2000 TJ - "Casper"
4.9L stroker, Dynatrac Pro Rock 60's, 40" MTR's, 5.38 gears with ARB carriers, Kilby Air, Premier Welder, Walker Evans Bead Locks, Rubicon Express 8" Long Arm, AGR Steering...
SilverXJ
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Stroker Displacement: 4.6L
Vehicle Model: Cherokee

Re: High RPM lean?

Post by SilverXJ »

The PCM's learning isn't going to do much for the WOT area. I doubt you are running lean with 27lb injectors. Mine runs rich with 26.5# injectors.. or are they 25.6#.. I don't recall. Could be valve float, but I would check other areas first.
kptuck
Where's the "any" key?
Where's the "any" key?

Post by kptuck »

Thank you for your comment.