New to Stokers

Newbies, and basic Stroker Recipes... Get started with your first stroker here!!
CreepyKrawlerXJ
Vehicle Year: 1999
Vehicle Make: Jeep
Vehicle Model: XJ

New to Stokers

Post by CreepyKrawlerXJ »

Hey everyone. I just got a FREE 4.0 engine out of a 91 MJ. I am going to be putting it into my 99 XJ. My plan is to make a 4.6 stoker in like a year time frame. I was going to use the head off my 99. Will it work? I Have been on many forums before and I hate probably 80% of them. Everyone was just stuck up and insult people for asking questions. I am a newbie to the whole stoker build but not to a basic OEM engine rebuild, I have been floating around with the idea for a while now. I got this recipe off a site on someones profile. What I am trying to create is something with a good amount of horse power but a lot of torque. My limit is around 2000 bucks give or take. Tell me what you think... And also where I could buy most of these parts at? And what the heck is a quench height?
Thank you everyone for your help on this.

4.6L Low-buck, low CR "rockcrawler"
Jeep 4.2L 3.895" stroke crank
Jeep 4.2L 5.875" rods
Silvolite UEM-2229 +0.030" bore pistons
Increase piston dish volume to 30cc
8.75:1 CR
CompCams 68-115-4 192/200 degree camshaft
Ported HO 1.91"/1.50" cylinder head
Mill block deck 0.035"
Mopar/Victor 0.043" head gasket
0.058" quench height
Ford 24lb/hr injectors with stock 39psi FPR for '87-'95 engines, stock injectors with stock 49psi FPR for '96 and later engines
240hp @ 4700rpm, 315lbft @ 3000rpm

Option 2: Same as "rockcrawler" except:
Piston dish volume 21cc
9.6:1 CR
CompCams #68-231-4 206/214 degree camshaft
Ford 24lb/hr injectors with adjustable FPR or MAP adjuster for '87-'95 engines, Ford 24lb/hr injectors with stock 49psi FPR for '96 and later engines
264hp @ 4900rpm, 324lbft @ 3500rpm
dwg86
Donator
Donator
Stroker Displacement: 4.6
Vehicle Year: 2003
Vehicle Model: Wrangler

Re: New to Stokers

Post by dwg86 »