What will this TD05 12a turbo do to my 4.6 stroker?

Performance mods and Advanced Stroker discussion.
akadeutsch
Movin on up ^
Movin on up ^
Stroker Displacement: 4.6
Vehicle Year: 1981
Vehicle Make: Jeep
Vehicle Model: CJ8

What will this TD05 12a turbo do to my 4.6 stroker?

Post by akadeutsch »

I'm in denver at least 5000 feet. I've heard that we need 6-8 psi just to get back to sea level.
Strokedevowheeler
Vehicle Year: 1999
Vehicle Make: jeep
Vehicle Model: XJ

Re: What will this TD05 12a turbo do to my 4.6 stroker?

Post by Strokedevowheeler »

This is my first time puting my two cents in on any post here. I have played with turbos a bit on other motors not jeeps, but air flow through an engine is air flow through an engine. I belive your TD0512A is probably from a Dodge Stealth. At any rate, a TD05 has a very smal CFM air flow, and given your motor is a 4.6, there are better choices. And, there are none I can give you right now. I'll think about it for awhile and maybe respond back to this. Do some websearching and there are some good turbo air flow verses cylindar airflow charts out on the internet. Do a little research. You'll find what you need. Best of luck to you.
SkylinesSuck
Donator
Donator
Stroker Displacement: 4.6L
Vehicle Year: 1998
Vehicle Model: Wrangler

Post by SkylinesSuck »

That turbo is too small.

As mentioned above, it's about airflow. PSI had little to do with all of this. "X" psi from one turbo will be a completely different amount of air (and thus horsepower) than another turbo. PSI is just a measurement of restriction, not how much air is going into the motor.

Finding an appropriately sized turbo is only about 5% of the work and cost of turboing your jeep. There is much MUCH more to it and finding a "good deal" on a used turbo isn't rely going to help you out much in the end.
akadeutsch
Movin on up ^
Movin on up ^

Post by akadeutsch »

Do you guys know what turbo banks is using?
akadeutsch
Movin on up ^
Movin on up ^