Welcome to www.JeepStrokers.com!!
Not yet a registered user? You are required to Register before you can post within this topic.

Calculator...

Check here for most things forum related... NOT stroker related!
Post Reply
User avatar
Mgardiner1
Donator
Donator
Posts: 574
Joined: August 2nd, 2008, 6:19 pm
Stroker Displacement: 284 CI
Location: Wading River, NY

Re: Calculator...

Post by Mgardiner1 » April 17th, 2009, 3:36 am

Seems to be working for me....
oletshot wrote:....and silvolites are only cast not hypericantspellits. :-)

User avatar
Muad'Dib
Site Admin / Owner
Site Admin / Owner
Posts: 1494
Joined: January 8th, 2008, 10:55 am
Stroker Displacement: 4.7L
Vehicle Year: 1990
Vehicle Make: Jeep
Vehicle Model: Cherokee
Location: Bend, Oregon
Contact:

Re: Calculator...

Post by Muad'Dib » April 17th, 2009, 8:47 am

Bodo wrote:I can get the list of cams, but selecting one doesn't import the data to the calculator :(
Please give me more information.

What Operating System do you run?

What Browser do you use? What version of the browser are you using. (Example Internet Explorer version 8 or Firefox v3.08)

Does the pop-up open in a new window? A new tab?

When you click a cam, does the window close?

Is javascript disabled on your browser?
If it feels right, then STROKE it!
You're lucky that hundred shot of CAPS LOCK didn't blow the welds on the forum!!

User avatar
Muad'Dib
Site Admin / Owner
Site Admin / Owner
Posts: 1494
Joined: January 8th, 2008, 10:55 am
Stroker Displacement: 4.7L
Vehicle Year: 1990
Vehicle Make: Jeep
Vehicle Model: Cherokee
Location: Bend, Oregon
Contact:

Re: Calculator...

Post by Muad'Dib » April 17th, 2009, 8:59 am

I was in a hurry to get this done, but i usually check my work against all common browsers.

I didnt this time around when making changes to the calculator. I did verify that it was still valid to w3c xhtml 1.0 strict.

I just tested all these browsers: (Latest Versions)

IE7
IE8
Safari
Opera
Firefox


I noticed it wasnt working in firefox and opera. I am currently investigating the issue. I should have it resolved soon.
If it feels right, then STROKE it!
You're lucky that hundred shot of CAPS LOCK didn't blow the welds on the forum!!

User avatar
RAPTORFAN85
Donator
Donator
Posts: 248
Joined: June 12th, 2008, 12:45 pm
Stroker Displacement: 4.6L
Vehicle Year: 2001
Vehicle Make: Jeep
Vehicle Model: TJ
Location: Mass

Re: Calculator...

Post by RAPTORFAN85 » April 17th, 2009, 9:32 am

Your values for the stock 99-06 cam are wrong. It is a 107 LSA on a 114 centerline so it has a 7* advance.

All the stock cam specs are here http://www.angelfire.com/my/fan/Jeep4.0Camshafts.htm

Plus many other Aftermarket cams. Maybe you could put some of the more popular ones in? Just a thought.
"Strrrrroke me, stoke me...."

Billy Squire

User avatar
SilverXJ
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5793
Joined: February 14th, 2008, 7:14 am
Stroker Displacement: 4.6L
Vehicle Year: 2000
Vehicle Make: Jeep
Vehicle Model: Cherokee
Location: Radford, Va
Contact:

Re: Calculator...

Post by SilverXJ » April 17th, 2009, 10:42 am

RAPTORFAN85 wrote:Your values for the stock 99-06 cam are wrong. It is a 107 LSA on a 114 centerline so it has a 7* advance.

All the stock cam specs are here http://www.angelfire.com/my/fan/Jeep4.0Camshafts.htm

Plus many other Aftermarket cams. Maybe you could put some of the more popular ones in? Just a thought.

Than can't be right either, unless you meant retard. Using your numbers and comparing it to the IVC or 60.9 the DCR is different.

User avatar
RAPTORFAN85
Donator
Donator
Posts: 248
Joined: June 12th, 2008, 12:45 pm
Stroker Displacement: 4.6L
Vehicle Year: 2001
Vehicle Make: Jeep
Vehicle Model: TJ
Location: Mass

Re: Calculator...

Post by RAPTORFAN85 » April 17th, 2009, 10:51 am

You are right it's a 7* retard, not advance my bad.

Also the intake closing is at 62*

FWIW
DCR with the intake closing at 62* is 7.08
DCR with the LSA of 107 and intake duration of 256 is the same, 7.08

All of these numbers match what I have for the stock cam...
"Strrrrroke me, stoke me...."

Billy Squire

User avatar
PolloLoco
Donator
Donator
Posts: 212
Joined: March 8th, 2009, 6:39 am
Stroker Displacement: 4.7L
Vehicle Year: 1997
Vehicle Make: Jeep
Vehicle Model: TJ
Location: DeRidder, LA

Re: Calculator...

Post by PolloLoco » April 17th, 2009, 10:56 am

Muad'Dib wrote:I noticed it wasnt working in firefox and opera. I am currently investigating the issue. I should have it resolved soon.
:( Firefox is the only way for me

Why not just use drop down menus? I think that would be much cleaner. When you select the cam model have text boxes that populate with the different cam data just for reference

Instead of the "red out" box I recommend that you use the more common method of a "grayed out" box, it would be more aesthetically pleasing. Red attracts too much attention and makes you think that you forgot to input something critical.
4.7L Stroker, 4.88 Ford 8.8 w/Auburn ECTED, HP30 w/ARB, AX-15, NP231 w/RR SYE, 33x10.50 BFG A/T, 4" Skyjacker, 1" body lift, 1" MORE motor mounts, Kilby fuel tank skid, UCF ultra-high clearance 1/4" skid, HMMWV-style snorkel, 63mm TB

Bodo
Donator
Donator
Posts: 247
Joined: July 31st, 2008, 12:28 pm

Re: Calculator...

Post by Bodo » April 17th, 2009, 12:56 pm


What Operating System do you run?


Windows XP SP2

What Browser do you use? What version of the browser are you using. (Example Internet Explorer version 8 or Firefox v3.08)


I am not at my home machine, but it is the latest version of Firefox

Does the pop-up open in a new window? A new tab?

popup window

When you click a cam, does the window close?
Yup, goes away but leaves empty fields

Is javascript disabled on your browser?
Nope.

User avatar
SilverXJ
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5793
Joined: February 14th, 2008, 7:14 am
Stroker Displacement: 4.6L
Vehicle Year: 2000
Vehicle Make: Jeep
Vehicle Model: Cherokee
Location: Radford, Va
Contact:

Re: Calculator...

Post by SilverXJ » April 17th, 2009, 12:59 pm

RAPTORFAN85 wrote:You are right it's a 7* retard, not advance my bad.

Also the intake closing is at 62*

FWIW
DCR with the intake closing at 62* is 7.08
DCR with the LSA of 107 and intake duration of 256 is the same, 7.08

All of these numbers match what I have for the stock cam...
According to the 2004 WJ FSM and 2000 XJ FSM the IVC is 60.9* and intake duration is 253.3

User avatar
SilverXJ
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 5793
Joined: February 14th, 2008, 7:14 am
Stroker Displacement: 4.6L
Vehicle Year: 2000
Vehicle Make: Jeep
Vehicle Model: Cherokee
Location: Radford, Va
Contact:

Re: Calculator...

Post by SilverXJ » April 17th, 2009, 1:00 pm

Bodo wrote:
When you click a cam, does the window close?
Yup, goes away but leaves empty fields

Is javascript disabled on your browser?
Nope.
Same think on Firefox at my end along with the calc not working even if numbers are entered manually. Works fine in IE.

User avatar
RAPTORFAN85
Donator
Donator
Posts: 248
Joined: June 12th, 2008, 12:45 pm
Stroker Displacement: 4.6L
Vehicle Year: 2001
Vehicle Make: Jeep
Vehicle Model: TJ
Location: Mass

Re: Calculator...

Post by RAPTORFAN85 » April 17th, 2009, 1:05 pm

SilverXJ wrote:
According to the 2004 WJ FSM and 2000 XJ FSM the IVC is 60.9* and intake duration is 253.3

I guess the only way to solve the discrepancies would be to have a stock cam profiled. Until then we won't really know for sure :huh:
"Strrrrroke me, stoke me...."

Billy Squire

User avatar
Muad'Dib
Site Admin / Owner
Site Admin / Owner
Posts: 1494
Joined: January 8th, 2008, 10:55 am
Stroker Displacement: 4.7L
Vehicle Year: 1990
Vehicle Make: Jeep
Vehicle Model: Cherokee
Location: Bend, Oregon
Contact:

Re: Calculator...

Post by Muad'Dib » April 17th, 2009, 1:14 pm

The calculator should be fixed now. Works with all current popular browsers.

For those of you who have tried it and it didnt work, you may have to clear your cache before it will work properly.
If it feels right, then STROKE it!
You're lucky that hundred shot of CAPS LOCK didn't blow the welds on the forum!!

User avatar
Muad'Dib
Site Admin / Owner
Site Admin / Owner
Posts: 1494
Joined: January 8th, 2008, 10:55 am
Stroker Displacement: 4.7L
Vehicle Year: 1990
Vehicle Make: Jeep
Vehicle Model: Cherokee
Location: Bend, Oregon
Contact:

Re: Calculator...

Post by Muad'Dib » April 17th, 2009, 1:25 pm

PolloLoco wrote:
Muad'Dib wrote:I noticed it wasnt working in firefox and opera. I am currently investigating the issue. I should have it resolved soon.
:( Firefox is the only way for me

Why not just use drop down menus? I think that would be much cleaner. When you select the cam model have text boxes that populate with the different cam data just for reference

Instead of the "red out" box I recommend that you use the more common method of a "grayed out" box, it would be more aesthetically pleasing. Red attracts too much attention and makes you think that you forgot to input something critical.

Yes greyed out is much better ... i dont know why i even thought of using red! Thanks for that.

Firefox should be fixed now...

As far as drop down boxes, i dont really like that idea... but i may have a text area that gets populated with the cam manufacturer, and model number of the cam that you select.
If it feels right, then STROKE it!
You're lucky that hundred shot of CAPS LOCK didn't blow the welds on the forum!!

User avatar
Mgardiner1
Donator
Donator
Posts: 574
Joined: August 2nd, 2008, 6:19 pm
Stroker Displacement: 284 CI
Location: Wading River, NY

Re: Calculator...

Post by Mgardiner1 » April 17th, 2009, 3:59 pm

Not that its an official operating system, but my pre-release win 7 with IE 8 doesn't like the cam feature on the calculator. The box opens, and when i select a cam, it doesn't do anything. The pop up box remains and the values are not loaded
oletshot wrote:....and silvolites are only cast not hypericantspellits. :-)

User avatar
Muad'Dib
Site Admin / Owner
Site Admin / Owner
Posts: 1494
Joined: January 8th, 2008, 10:55 am
Stroker Displacement: 4.7L
Vehicle Year: 1990
Vehicle Make: Jeep
Vehicle Model: Cherokee
Location: Bend, Oregon
Contact:

Re: Calculator...

Post by Muad'Dib » April 17th, 2009, 4:10 pm

I know that it works with IE8 in xp and vista ... so thats gotta be a Windows 7 issue. Have you ran windows update on your beta?

Ive gotta do more testing with WIndows 7, but i guess its also possible that the default install of 7 doesnt have javascript enabled.
If it feels right, then STROKE it!
You're lucky that hundred shot of CAPS LOCK didn't blow the welds on the forum!!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest