Wanting to build a stroker, would really appreciate some advise

Newbies, and basic Stroker Recipes... Get started with your first stroker here!!
Kyle555
Vehicle Year: 1992
Vehicle Make: Jeep
Vehicle Model: Cherokee

Wanting to build a stroker, would really appreciate some advise

Post by Kyle555 »

I am very new to this platform, and am just trying to understand the Jeep stroker engine more. I am currently building a motor for my 92 jeep xj. I Already have a 97 4.0 motor fully machined, bored to .30 OS, block deck resurfaced, new cam bearings, crank journals and caps have been ground smooth. 4.0 rods with bearing surfaces machined, with Sealed power H802CP 0.30 pistons already attached. 4.0 crank shaft ground and machined. New stock cam, with a stock 4.0 head, reused springs, new valves, new valve seals, and resurfaced deck. New melling oem oil pump, pick up screen and new oem push rods, lifters, and timing chain set. A long with a huge assortment of performance accessories, such as BBK 62 mm throttle body, port matched intake, and Flow kooler water pump etc. I've dumped about 3,500$ this far into this motor. My only problem is, now I am really wanting to convert it to a stroker.. So I have a few questions. First, is it worth it at this point to convert my build into a stroker? I can use the 4.0 crank to rebuild another used motor I have laying around. Second, my biggest question. Can I use my stock 4.0 pistons and rods for a stroker build using a 4.2 crank? Because If that's the case, I won't have to worry about buying new pistons again, and worrying about buying new rods. I'm not looking for any crazy horsepower gains, mainly just want the added torque of a stroker. If I can make it a stroker just by just adding a new crank and bearing set, I will be more than happy with that. Any suggestions or help will be very appreciated
Cheromaniac
I live here
I live here
Stroker Displacement: 4563cc

Re: Wanting to build a stroker, would really appreciate some advise