Gas

Newbies, and basic Stroker Recipes... Get started with your first stroker here!!
bmax998
Noob
Noob
Stroker Displacement: 4.6L
Vehicle Year: 1996
Vehicle Make: Jeep
Vehicle Model: G.Cherokee

Gas

Post by bmax998 »

Hello,
I am pretty new to this forum and so far I have not been able to find out how I can tell whether or not I can use regular gas (87) or if I will need to use a higher grade gas. I'm also very new to building a stroker so my knowledge so far, I would say, is below average. Is there a way to figure out it after everything is said and done? Please Help.

Thank you,
Brady :D
bmax998
Noob
Noob
Stroker Displacement: 4.6L
Vehicle Year: 1996
Vehicle Model: G.Cherokee

Re: Gas

Post by bmax998 »

Hi again, so after doing extensive digging into this forum, I still have yet to get an answer as to what I should be expecting to use. I understand that a higher compression ratio requires a higher octane fuel. However, I want to be sure exacty what I am putting into my engine before hand. Therefore, if anyone could help that would be great. All i need is some sort of range or list that gives me an “ideal” fuel based on CR, this will help me decide what CR i choose to set in my stroker build. Thanks.
Russ Pottenger
Strong Poster
Strong Poster
Stroker Displacement: 4.7
Vehicle Year: 2000
Vehicle Model: Cherokee

Re: Gas

Post by Russ Pottenger »

Hi Brady,

Welcome to the forum.
There are several factors involved to properly answer your question. Depending on piston quench, camshaft, altitude, and AFR's we're shooting for a static compression ratio of around 9.2:1 to 9.5:1 to safely run on 87 with a cast iron head.

I carry a full line of custom forged pistons to compliment my Stroker kits that have multiple choices in dish volumes that allows me build a kit for you so you'll have the exact static compression ratio you'll need.