Grinding a stroker crank

Newbies, and basic Stroker Recipes... Get started with your first stroker here!!
Plechtan
Donator
Donator
Stroker Displacement: 5.0L 4x4
Vehicle Year: 1988
Vehicle Make: Jeep
Vehicle Model: Comanche

Grinding a stroker crank

Post by Plechtan »

I'm new to this, and had a question on stroker cranks, I get most of this, but i do not understand how you can take a 4.2 crank and grind the pins off center and get a stroke of 4.00" or more. If i took a stock crank and ground the pin .040 off center ( the largest undersize bearing i could find) , that would give me about 3.955 The way i figure it, you would have 3.875" + .080 = 3.955. and that would assume a stock size crank to start with. do people use undersize rods?

Pete
Peter Lechtanski
The worlds Fastest Comanche Prroject
dwg86
Donator
Donator
Stroker Displacement: 4.6
Vehicle Year: 2003
Vehicle Model: Wrangler

Re: Grinding a stroker crank

Post by dwg86 »

You do not grind the 4.2 crank pins off center. The 4.2 crank has a longer stoke. You just install it in the 4.0 block. The only crankshaft grinding that needs to be done, would to clean up scored journals and install oversize bearings.
seanyb505
Donator
Donator
Stroker Displacement: 280ci
Vehicle Year: 1997
Vehicle Model: Cherokee

Post by seanyb505 »

Not sure on how the journals are changed to get a longer stroke, but if you clean off the journals and take .040 off, and then use .040 oversized bearings, you will still have the same stroke. If you were able to use the same thickness as stock bearings with a small connecting rod you could take advantage of a longer stroke. With oversized bearings that possibility is eliminated. Im also curious how offset cranks are produced...
Now I can be like all those other awesome people with more than one Jeep in their sig, but now I have to say one of them is sold:(
97 XJ 4.6
90 MJ 4.0 - sold

I want to have as many Jeeps as children. DD, offroader, drag MJ and another one. 4=4
kris